What to do if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance
In 2020, the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles reported that 247,214 motor vehicle crashes occurred and 69,001 of those crashes resulted in injury. Typically, car accident victims can recover financial compensation for their injuries from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. What happens when the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance? How do you recover then?
7.4 percent of North Carolina drivers are uninsured. While the number is not large, it is important to know what to do if you are hit by an uninsured driver. If you are injured by an uninsured driver, you may recover from your own car insurance.
Recovering from your own car insurance
North Carolina requires a minimum amount of insurance by law. In addition to comprehensive and liability coverage, your insurance must cover:
- Uninsured/Underinsured motorist property damage at a minimum of $25,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury at a minimum of $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.
Filing a claim with your own insurance can be difficult because, at the end of the day, an insurance company is a business. Their interest is their bottom line, and the adjustors will do their best to get you to take as little of a settlement as possible.
Contact the Personal Injury Attorneys at Paynter Law Today
Our team is experienced in helping injured drivers recover if they are injured by an uninsured driver. Call us today and one of our personal injury attorneys will review your case and help you chart a path to recovery.